“Worth It”

I wasn’t planning on posting an update so soon after yesterday because there isn’t much more information to give, but I just couldn’t not write about our hearts today. Yall, there are no words for how generous you have all been with your prayers and encouragement. We have all received texts, phone calls, and posts of kind words that have truly lifted our spirits. God is so so good to us. Mom just finished up meeting with the Radiologist and things are still basically inconclusive. The Radiologist says that with the growth being so close to the bowels, he is hesitant to treat with radiation, but it may still be an option. He also mentioned the possibility of minor surgery to remove the nodules. This obviously would only treat the lymph nodes and then another procedure would be done to treat other areas (there was mention of injections to freeze/heat up the cancer cells- again, hard to explain when this is being relayed multiple times). Basically, we still have about the same amount of unknowns as yesterday — we will be waiting to hear what the tumor board comes up with and will be deciding the best route from there.

Aside from the medical update, I just wanted to take a minute to express where we are all at with this. Today, my mom woke up refreshed and encouraged…such a different demeanor than yesterday and not because any circumstances had changed. Today has been such a clear picture of God’s mercies being new every morning. I just wanted to take a moment to share my mom’s response to an incredibly touching Facebook post:

Thank you to everyone who is sending prayers up to our gracious Father on my and my family’s behalf. Two verses came to mind in the last couple days that I wanted to share and the reason I am encouraged.
2 Corinthians 4:16-18
“Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things that are not seen. For the things that are seen are temporary, but the things not seen are eternal.”
2 Corinthians 12:9-10
“And He said to me, ” My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness. ” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therfore I take pleasure in my infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
Did I want to receive this news yesterday? No! Is He using it for my good and His Glory? Yes! Worth it!

Love you all!

I can’t help but be so proud of what God is doing in my mom as He has made her able to so beautifully put on display humility and faithfulness. I hope this has encouraged many of you and just given you a little taste of the sweetness of community we have felt as a family. Please continue to pray with us and to pray for us. God is already answering prayers. We are grateful and we are looking forward with hope as we continue this journey.